This object is in archive! 

Remove username displayed in gui on public shares

Chris Prangnell shared this idea 7 years ago
Delivered

When a share is created and communicated to audience, the person to use this share link can see the users username for filecloud printed in the share UI.

Please remove this or add option to remove this. We cannot proceed with filecloud until this is removed.

Replies (6)

photo
2

Thanks for the report, we are looking into making this change.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
2

the username also appears in the URL as well as the UI, this needs to be hashed!

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
1

Are there any news on this? This is a serious security concern, especially when working with Active Directory. As Chris has already stated, the username must not be visible to customers under any circumstances.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
1

This is a significant change to the system so this has to go into a major release. We are looking into scheduling this in 19.2 or 19.3.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
1

Thanks for the update! This is good to hear.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
1

My company knows the external user sees the username of the user who shared the content with them, so we created specific FileCloud usernames which we want the external customers to see.

Since my company relies on the username to be visible to external customers, then hopefully you will be making this change "optional" by allowing it to be enabled/disabled, otherwise, the current way my company uses FileCloud for file distribution will no longer make any sense to our customers.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
photo
1

My company knows the external user sees the username of the user who shared the content with them, so we created specific FileCloud usernames which we want the external customers to see.

Since my company relies on the username to be visible to external customers, then hopefully you will be making this change "optional" by allowing it to be enabled/disabled, otherwise, the current way my company uses FileCloud for file distribution will no longer make any sense to our customers.

This comment is in trash! Restore
photo
1

Noted and understood ToddR.

This comment is in trash! Restore
Leave a Comment
 
Attach a file